Explore More

Philippine Standard Time:
14 June 2024, 00:38 AM

ASEAN Member States sign arrangement to facilitate trade customs clearance

October 12, 2023

The 10 ASEAN Member States (AMS) signed the Mutual Recognition Arrangement (MRA) of their respective Authorised Economic Operator (AEO) Programmes on 19 September 2023. The ASEAN AEO MRA (AAMRA) seeks to provide a predictable and transparent trading environment among AMS.
AAMRA provides assurance that the certification standards that the AMS customs administrations apply within their respective AEO programmes are compatible and in accordance with the principles and standards of the World Customs Organisation (WCO) SAFE Framework of Standards to Secure and Facilitate Global Trade (SAFE Framework). Certified AMS AEOs will enjoy faster cargo clearance and priority treatment for cargo inspection for their goods traded within ASEAN. These benefits are expected to increase savings arising from improved predictability of cargo movement.

To recall, a Joint Action Plan was announced to fully commit to the implementation of AAMRA at the opening ceremony of the 31st meeting of ASEAN Director-Generals of Customs on June 7, 2022, in Singapore. After which, The Philippines signed the AAMRA Text on May 12, 2023.

Upon finalizing their domestic administrative procedures, six ASEAN Member States, namely Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Thailand, and Singapore, will start a six-month pilot implementation of the AAMRA by the end of 2023, with the aim of full implementation by the third quarter of 2024. The remaining four AMS are expected to commence during the second pilot implementation in 2024.

The official press release and the copy of the signed AAMRA Text can be found at the ASEAN website through this link: https://asean.org/asean-member-states-sign-arrangement-to-facilitate-trade-customs-clearance/

Republic of the Philippines

All content is in the public domain unless otherwise stated.

Skip to content